EAST METROPOLITAN REGION DISTRICTS

The changes to the existing boundary between the North Metropolitan Region and the South Metropolitan Region, combined with a lower district enrolment, have had a flow-on effect to all district boundaries within the East Metropolitan Region. This has resulted in another four districts being included in the region, bringing the total number of districts to 14.

Districts based on the regional centres of Midland and Armadale have been retained. The northern boundary of the Darling Range district has been adjusted around the Great Eastern Highway to keep local communities together as much as possible. Boundaries of other districts have also been created to achieve a balance between the range of matters that the Commissioners are required to consider, including community of interest and average district enrolment. In seeking to achieve this balance across the region, some difficult decisions had to be made when considering the inclusion of communities within particular districts. In some cases a new name has been determined to better reflect the composition of the district.

Following the objection phase, amendments were made to include central Kelmscott and the remaining portion of the locality of Brookdale in the Armadale district. To offset the shift in electors, parts of Wungong and Mount Richon were included in the Darling Range district. These adjustments seek to address community of interest concerns by incorporating the Kelmscott Town Centre and the whole of the proposed Wungong Urban Water area in the one district.

One submission drew attention to an oversight in the proposed boundaries, which resulted in the Gosnells Town Centre being excluded from the Gosnells district. Accordingly, the boundaries between the Gosnells and Kalamunda districts have been amended. Further adjustments have also been made to the Forrestfield district to allow the northern boundary of the Gosnells district to follow the Canning River.

The Commissioners were persuaded by submissions to accommodate the entire localities of Gooseberry Hill and Darlington in the Kalamunda district. To offset the shift of electors from Darlington, the entire locality of Guildford was returned to the Midland district (from the proposed Belmont district). There was no obvious group of electors that could be added to the Belmont district to improve representation, without significant change throughout the region. The elector enrolment for the district of Belmont therefore falls below the average district enrolment. The objections also resulted in the inclusion of the entire localities of Mundaring, Glen Forrest and Mahogany Creek in the Swan Hills district. To offset the shift in electors, amendments were made to include the entire suburbs of Mount Helena, Chidlow and The Lakes in the Darling Range district.

Finally, the entire locality of North Perth was incorporated in the Perth district by moving the boundary between the Perth and Mount Lawley districts from Charles Street to Walcott Street.

Elector Statistics for the East Metropolitan Region Districts

District	Elector Enrolment 26/2/07	Deviation from 2007 Average District Enrolment (%)
Armadale	23,071	8.06
Bassendean	22,390	4.87
Belmont	20,912	-2.05
Darling Range	22,668	6.17
Forrestfield	22,754	6.58
Gosnells	21,918	2.66
Kalamunda	22,992	7.69
Maylands	22,195	3.96
Midland	22,432	5.07
Morley	22,818	6.88
Mount Lawley	22,020	3.14
Nollamara	22,124	3.63
Swan Hills	22,008	3.08
West Swan	21,076	-1.28
Total	311,378	

Note: District names for this region have not changed from those proposed in June 2007.

