AGRICULTURAL REGION DISTRICTS

A reduction in the number of districts in the Agricultural Region was foreshadowed during the 2003 distribution, based on a decline in population growth in the region relative to the State as a whole. This decline has not abated and the 2005 legislative changes have required further significant adjustments to the number of districts to take account of the higher average district enrolment.

In the area determined by the Commissioners to be the Agricultural Region (where the land use is primarily for agricultural purposes), four districts have been established. The district of Geraldton follows the boundaries of the newly formed City of Geraldton-Greenough local government authority. The district of Moore, encircling the Geraldton district, extends south from the Murchison River to the metropolitan boundary and incorporates the shires of Dalwallinu, Perenjori, Morawa and Mullewa at its eastern side. The district of Central Wheatbelt includes the existing district of Merredin, expanded west to include the shires of Beverley, York and the newly amalgamated Shire of Northam. The name Central Wheatbelt, renamed from the proposed Merredin, has been chosen, in response to objections, to better reflect the new extent of the district.

The district of Wagin encompasses the existing district of the same name with an expansion both north and east to satisfy permitted variation limits. The eastern boundary of this district incorporates the shires of Jerramungup and Lake Grace to form part of the Mining and Pastoral Region boundary. Within these districts, local government boundaries have been used to establish district boundaries, taking into account communities of interest and elector numbers.

The shires of Esperance and Ravensthorpe have been included as part of a revised Mining and Pastoral Region. Further information about this change is included in the Mining and Pastoral Region summary.

District	Elector Enrolment 26/2/07	Deviation from 2007 Average District Enrolment (%)
Central Wheatbelt	20,299	-4.92
Geraldton	20,575	-3.63
Moore	21,453	0.48
Wagin	20,152	-5.61
Total	82,479	

Elector Statistics for the Agricultural Region Districts

