

The Region contains 5 districts as follows:

- Eyre
- Kalgoorlie
- Kimberley
- Ningaloo
- Pilbara

The changes within the Mining and Pastoral Region are amongst the most significant proposed for this distribution of boundaries.

There is insufficient population to sustain the current six districts and it is therefore necessary to establish boundaries to divide the region into five districts. A minor adjustment to the boundary with the Agricultural Region has also been made.

The distinct nature of the Kimberley area and its geographical separation from areas to the south, together with the need to ensure that all districts are within the permissible range of  $\pm$  15% of quota at the mid-point have led to challenges in the establishment of boundaries. A further reduction in the area covered by the district of Kimberley is necessary, with the removal of the area surrounding Fitzroy Crossing from the district. Despite this adjustment, this district is projected to be at the higher end of the permissible range at the mid-point, with the remaining four districts all projected to be below quota. Regrettably, local government areas have had to be divided to achieve this balance in some cases.

## Elector statistics for the Mining and Pastoral Region districts

Elector Enrolment	Deviation from 2002	Projected Enrolment	Deviation from 2007
11/2/02	Quotient	11/2/07	Quotient
15,629	13.79	13,984	-8.86
13,673	-0.45	13,952	-9.07
12,797	-6.83	17,062	11.20
13,286	-3.27	14,568	-5.05
13,171	-4.11	14,523	-5.34
68,556	-0.17	74,089	-3.42
13,711		14,818	
	Enrolment 11/2/02 15,629 13,673 12,797 13,286 13,171 68,556	Enrolmentfrom 200211/2/02Quotient15,62913.7913,673-0.4512,797-6.8313,286-3.2713,171-4.1168,556-0.17	Enrolmentfrom 2002Enrolment11/2/02Quotient11/2/0715,62913.7913,98413,673-0.4513,95212,797-6.8317,06213,286-3.2714,56813,171-4.1114,52368,556-0.1774,089

