

Ob 19 - FW: Objections. Thursday, 27 July 2023 2:43:46 PM

Objection 19 (Ob19)

From: Benjamin Close <s

Sent: Monday, 24 July 2023 11:23 PM

To: Electoral Boundaries Review Mailbox <boundaries@waec.wa.gov.au> **Subject:** Objections.

[External Email] This email was sent from outside the organisation. Be cautious, particularly with links and attachments. All SPAM emails must be reported using the instructions on the intranet.

I'd like to raise the following objections to the proposed redistribution.

City of Rockingham - Rockingham, Baldavis, Darling Range, Warnbro and partially in Kwinana. I believe dividing the Iga further by expanding into Kwinana and the new district of Oakford is a mistake when I have shown in my submission that it can be divided exclusively between the three districts of Rockingham, Baldavis and Warnbro. I believe that Igs hold be split between as few districts as possible. Doesnt need to expand into Mandurah which is likely to form a third district in the future and this proposal would hamper that. Districts should remane the same names of Rockingham, Warnbro and Baldavis.

City of Kwinana - should not be further divided between Oakford and Jandakot when my submission shows it can be clearly formed solely into one district.

City of Cockburn - the new boundaries divides the suburbs of coogee and Hamilton Hill when they can clearly fit into one district. They also divide the suburbs belonging to othe lgas, city of Melville and city of Fremantle when they can clearly be reunited as per my proposal. Agree that Bibra Lake is the best name for the new boundaries.

City of Fremantle - should be taking more territory belonging to the lga of city of Fremantle while shedding territory belonging to Melville and Cockburn,

Bicton - doesn't need to shed half of east Fremantle as it should be kept as a whole lga with one or the other. Doesn't need to spread into Fremantle and can acquire more of Melville from Bibra Lake.

City of Armadale - currently spread across 3 lgas and is proposed to spread into a 4th when its population can easily fit into 2 and a bit but due to numbers in darling range can be reduced over time. The district of Jandakot should be renamed Piara Waters due to being the centrepoint and population centre of that district.

Oakford - takes in voters from 4 different districts and as many lgas and divides the lgas unnecessarily. The new district would be better served taking I voters from as few committees of interest as possible. As I have demonstrated with Mundaring.

Mindarie- would be better suited to being called Clarkson

Hillarys/Padbury - become unnecessarily elonged instead of square. Duncraig would be a better name for Carine.

Cottelsoe - can easily shed all of the Town of Cambridge and stay within limits.

Perth - theshape of the district becomes weird looking and should be fixed.

Mandurah - loses part of its lga to the metropolitan area where it should stay together as it is most likely going to be able to form a third district in the near future.and should go the other way and expand north.

Collie - Preston should reunite the suburb of Australind which is divided between 2 districts.

Vasse - should shed the remainder of the shire of Capel and be solely within the confines of the city of Busselton. Busselton is therefore a better name for the division.

Pilbara - the shire of east Pilbara should be totally transferred to Kimberley. The Pilbara name is no longer relevant as it is divided between 2 districts. And sits basically in the Gascoyne region which is a better name.

Mid-west/Geraldton- similar to my suggestion and most acceptable except for the lga of sandstone being split.

Shire of Wiluna/ngaanyatjarraku unnecessarily split 2 districts when one shire can be given to both. Ngaanyatjarraku sits better with Kalgoorlie.

I will send a detailed counter proposal in due time. The commission should strongly consider my previous proposal and this feedback.

Get Outlook for Android

Acknowledgement of Country: The Western Australian Electoral Commission acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the lands on which our electoral activities take place. We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.