DISTRICTS IN THE METROPOLITAN REGIONS

NORTH METROPOLITAN REGION DISTRICTS

The Commissioners confirmed their view (expressed in the proposed boundaries publication) that continued population growth and residential development in the City of Perth have highlighted the similarities between East Perth, West Perth, Northbridge and the central city – particularly in regard to mixed residential and commercial land use. Prompted by the need to reduce the Nedlands district (and other districts in the region) by about 6,000 electors, the Commissioners formed the view that West Perth and Kings Park are now more appropriately placed with the remainder of the City of Perth in a single district. However, the location of the Mitchell Freeway remains a significant factor in dividing other districts in the eastern and western parts of the North Metropolitan Region.

Wanneroo Road is also recognised as a significant dividing boundary between communities in the North Metropolitan Region. Where possible this was also used as a district boundary. The road could not be followed for its full length because elector numbers only allowed for the creation of three complete districts between the Mitchell Freeway and Wanneroo Road south of Joondalup. This resulted in the Girrawheen district spanning Wanneroo Road to take in Warwick and part of Hamersley. The south-west portion of Hamersley has been included in the Balcatta district. This division was deemed necessary having regard to the boundaries of neighbouring districts.

While the North Metropolitan Region retains 14 districts, each district is approximately 6,000 electors smaller in size. This substantial reduction in the average district enrolment in the metropolitan area has led to significant changes to district boundaries, particularly those adjacent to the East Metropolitan Region boundary. Where the boundary with the East Metropolitan Region has been adjusted, major roads have generally been followed.

The north of the region is still experiencing stronger growth than areas further to the south. To accommodate this growth, elector numbers in the northern districts have generally been set lower than those in more demographically stable areas closer to the Swan River.

Following the objection phase, relatively minor amendments were made to the boundary between the Churchlands and Cottesloe districts to follow roads, rather than the local government boundary, around the locality of Mount Claremont. Additionally, the boundary between the Perth and Mount Lawley districts was amended to follow Walcott Street so as to incorporate the entire locality of North Perth in the Perth district.

A number of late submissions, including a petition with 109 signatures, expressed concern about the boundary dividing the suburb of Woodlands between the proposed Churchlands and Scarborough districts. Having regard to the requirements of the legislation, the Commissioners formed the view that wider community of interest concerns in the area would be more adversely affected by adjusting the boundary. Consequently, no change was made to this boundary.

In the localities of Currambine, Hamersley and Duncraig, the boundaries generally follow significant local roads to achieve a necessary balance between community of interest and elector numbers. Some new names have been determined for districts where these more accurately reflect the area defined by the district.

Elector Statistics for the North Metropolitan Region Districts

	Elector Enrolment	Deviation from 2007 Average District
	26/2/07	Enrolment (%)
Balcatta	22,223	4.09
Carine	22,595	5.83
Churchlands	22,589	5.80
Cottesloe	23,143	8.40
Girrawheen	22,076	3.40
Hillarys	22,720	6.42
Joondalup	21,815	2.18
Kingsley	22,905	7.28
Mindarie	20,267	-5.07
Nedlands	22,860	7.07
Ocean Reef	21,936	2.74
Perth	22,514	5.45
Scarborough	22,292	4.41
Wanneroo	22,643	6.06
Total	312,578	

Note: District names for this region have not changed from those proposed in June 2007.

