DISTRICTS IN THE COUNTRY REGIONS

MINING AND PASTORAL REGION DISTRICTS

Five districts make up the Mining and Pastoral Region, each qualifying for the large district allowance (applied to districts with an area of 100,000 square kilometres or more). The allowance is calculated by multiplying the square kilometres of the area of the district by 1.5%. The final figure, calculated by adding the allowance to the number of electors in the district, is required to be within the range of 20% less to 10% greater than the average district enrolment (that is, between 17,080 and 23,485). The effect of the introduction of the large district allowance has been spread generally across all districts and not concentrated in one or two particular districts to bolster low elector numbers.

The Kimberley district comprises complete local government authorities and restores Fitzroy Crossing and Halls Creek to the Kimberley district. This brings all four shires in the Kimberley region into the one electoral district.

The Pilbara district, which generally reflects the previous Central Kimberley-Pilbara district, has undergone a minor change to that proposed on 29 June 2007, in that the eastern part of the Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku will now be included in the Kalgoorlie district. This compromise recognises the important communication link between 'the Lands' and Kalgoorlie, while ensuring that the total land area does not result in the average district enrolment tolerances being exceeded.

The district of Kalgoorlie is re-established, replacing the proposed district of Goldfields. The retention of the name 'Kalgoorlie' was considered by many to be more appropriate. The Kalgoorlie district boundary has been adjusted through the Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku in recognition of the community of interest between the shire and Kalgoorlie and to facilitate representation for the majority of electors within this shire. The revised boundary commences on Great Central Road at the boundary with the Shire of Laverton. The boundary then proceeds north-east along Great Central Road to encompass the entire localities of Warburton and Ngaanyatjarra-Giles, including the communities of Warburton, Wingellina, Warakurna, Blackstone, Wannarn, Jameson and Tjukurla. The communities in the Gibson Desert South locality to the west (including Kanpa, Patjarr and Tjirrkarli) will remain in the Pilbara district and be connected for electoral purposes to the Gibson Desert North locality in the Shire of East Pilbara (including the communities of Kiwirrkurra and Kunawarriji).

The districts of Kalgoorlie and Eyre reflect the concentration of electors in Kalgoorlie-Boulder and the inclusion of two shires which were previously placed within the Agricultural Region. Having regard to the land use descriptors in section 16H of the *Electoral Act* and the other factors specified in section 16I, the Commissioners have included the shires of Esperance and Ravensthorpe in the Mining and Pastoral Region. The inclusion of these areas in the region received strong local support, with submissions expressing the importance of the links between those shires and the Goldfields. The decision also appropriately reflects the mining and pastoral activities that are carried out in those areas.

The district of North West has not been adjusted from that proposed on 29 June 2007. This comprises the existing district of North West Coastal with the addition eastward of the complete local government authorities of Upper Gascoyne, Murchison, Yalgoo, Meekatharra, Cue and Mount Magnet.

Elector Statistics for the Mining and Pastoral Region Districts

District	Elector Enrolment 26/2/07	Large District Allowance (LDA)	Total (including LDA)	Deviation from 2007 Average District Enrolment (%)
Eyre	17,036	4,383	21,419	0.32
Kalgoorlie	13,656	9,492	23,148	8.42
Kimberley	16,236	6,286	22,522	5.49
North Wes	st 15,558	6,136	21,694	1.61
Pilbara	11,290	7,912	19,202	-10.06
Total	73,776	34,209	107,985	

