Electoral Distribution Commissioners



Media Statement

Level 2, 111 St Georges Terrace Perth WA 6000 GPO Box F316 Perth WA 6841 Telephone (08) 9214 0450 Facsimile (08) 9214 0455 Email boundaries@waec.wa.gov.au Website www.boundaries.wa.gov.au

Review of WA's electoral boundaries - the final boundaries for the 2017 State general election

Today the Electoral Distribution Commissioners announced the electoral boundaries that will apply for the next State election.

- The Electoral Distribution Commissioners are Neville Owen, former Supreme Court judge, David Kerslake, WA's Electoral Commissioner and Tom Joseph, WA's Government Statistician
- The Electoral Distribution Commissioners have confirmed that there will be an additional metropolitan district, with the corresponding loss of a country district. The 59 Legislative Assembly districts will be made up of 43 districts in the metropolitan regions and 16 districts in the country regions.
- The district of Baldivis will be created south of Perth and Eyre in the country is abolished.
- Some changes to the original proposals have been made in the country, including reuniting both Esperance and Busselton within their respective districts. A number of agricultural shires have been returned to their previous districts, resulting in Central Wheatbelt and Roe acquiring large district allowances for the first time.
- Changes to the original proposals have also been made in the metropolitan area retaining
 the districts of Girrawheen and Mount Lawley in North Metropolitan and East Metropolitan
 Regions respectively, and returning Melaleuca and the whole of Bullsbrook to Swan Hills.
- The proposal to rename districts after prominent persons will not proceed except for the renaming of Wagin to Roe.
- Overall, Western Australia's electoral landscape has changed significantly with only nine of the 59 districts (seven in the country and two in the metropolitan area) unchanged.
- The new boundaries are final but will not apply until the next State election, expected in March 2017.
- Maps of these changes can be viewed and downloaded from Electoral Boundaries WA at www.boundaries.wa.gov.au
- For any further information, read the 2015 Final Boundaries by Region and District report available from Electoral Boundaries WA, at www.boundaries.wa.gov.au

Authorised by the Electoral Distribution Commissioners, 27 November 2015