Electoral Distribution Commissioners



Media Statement

Level 2, 111 St Georges Terrace Perth WA 6000 GPO Box F316 Perth WA 6841

Telephone (08) 9214 0450 (08) 9214 0455 Facsimile

boundaries@waec.wa.gov.au Website www.boundaries.wa.gov.au

Proposed changes to WA's electoral boundaries - the shape of things to come

- The Electoral Act 1907 provides that the State must be divided into 59 individual electoral districts, each returning one member to the Legislative Assembly, and six regions, each of which returns six members to the Legislative Council.
- Since the 2013 State election there has been considerable but uneven population growth in Western Australia. Taking into account the one-vote/one value principle and the requirement to keep the number of electors in all districts within a permissible range, the Electoral Distribution Commissioners have proposed significant changes across Western Australian electorates.
- The boundaries for all Legislative Council regions have been adjusted, as well as all electoral districts in the metropolitan area except Mirrabooka and Morley. Only the Kimberley, Pilbara, Geraldton, Mandurah, Dawesville and Murray-Wellington districts remain the same in the country. A number of districts have been renamed in recognition of notable Western Australians.
- An additional district is proposed for the South Metropolitan Region called Baldivis. The number of country districts is to be reduced by one, expanding the seat of Kalgoorlie to include substantial parts of Eyre.
- The Commissioners have formulated these proposals in accordance with the mandatory requirement to keep the number of electors in all districts within the permissible range. While not mandatory, factors including communities of interest, land uses, physical features, existing electoral and local government boundaries, trends of demographic change and distance, travel and communication issues have influenced the Commissioners' deliberations to varying degrees.
- Before finalising the boundaries, the Commissioners must provide opportunities for public comment and objections. Written submissions are welcome by 24 August 2015. The public are also invited to comment on the names proposed for the new metropolitan district and existing districts that have been renamed.
- Once finalised, the boundaries determined by the Electoral Distribution Commissioners will apply on the day of the next State general election due in March 2017.

Authorised by the Electoral Distribution Commissioners, 24 July 2015 Contact: media.boundaries@waec.wa.gov.au