From: Sabina Holdsworth [mailto:sholdsworth@westnet.com.au]

Sent: Friday, 18 May 2007 4:39 PM **To:** 2007 Electoral Distribution

Subject: Submission re: changes to electoral boundaries in the Murray District

Dear Sir/Madam

Please accept the following submission in relation to the changes to electoral boundaries in the Murray District.

With respect to the submissions made for the change of electoral boundaries I wish to make the following comments, observations and recommendations:

- 1. There has been a representative of the Murray electorate in Parliament since the very first Parliament was assembled 1838.
- 2. The Mandurah Shire was excised from the Murray Shire in 1950.
- 3. The seat of Dawesville was excised from the Murray and Mandurah electorates in 1996.
- 4. The common dominator for the Murray District is the Peel Harvey waterway on which all people in the Shires of Murray and the City of Mandurah have equal access to and share a common association with.
- 5. The majority of the residents of the Murray Shire shop in the City of Mandurah.
- 6. A large number of residents of both Shires also recreate at the regional sporting facilities.
- 7. Both local government authorities are serviced by the same education, police and health services.
- 8. A large number of residents of the Mandurah City are employed in the Murray Shire primarily at Alcoa and the Pinjarra Industrial area.
- 9. The next major industrial area for the Murray District will be located at Nambeelup in the Murray Shire which will further increase the number of people employed in the Murray Shire, who reside in the City of Mandurah.
- 10. The vast majority of land available for residential and industrial development is in the Murray Shire.
- 11. There are no common threads between the Shire of Murray and that of Wagin, Kojonup or Arthur River Shires.

There are 46,518 people currently enrolled in the Mandurah City and the Murray Shire, which will comfortably make two electorates and falls within the tolerances of plus or minus 10% of the target figure of 21,350.

I therefore submit that there should be two seats, the seat of Murray and the seat of Mandurah.

Yours sincerely

Sabina Holdsworth

tel: 0417 978 344

email: sholdsworth@westnet.com.au