

## **WA Distribution 2019**

# **Fact Sheet: Making a Submission**

This document is designed to assist members of the public wishing to lodge a submission with the Western Australian Distribution Commission.

The Western Australian Parliament is made up of two houses. The Legislative Assembly, or Lower House, has 59 members, each representing a single district. The Legislative Council, or Upper House, has 6 regions with each region represented by 6 Members.

The *Electoral Act 1907* requires that an independent Distribution Commission (comprising three Commissioners) undertake a review of all district and region boundaries once during each electoral cycle.

The Distribution process has now commenced and is scheduled to be completed before the end of 2019. The various stages in the Distribution process are set out in the *Review Timetable*.

The first stage, in which members of the public may lodge initial suggestions, commenced with the placement of advertisements on Saturday 30 March 2019. The deadline for lodging initial suggestions is 5.00 pm Monday 29 April 2019. All suggestions received will then be published on the BoundariesWA website and the public will be invited to comment on all suggestions received.

The Distribution Commissioners will review all suggestions and comments on the suggestions and proceed to draft proposed new boundaries which will also be made available for public comment. Proposed boundaries are not final and there will be a process allowing public objections before the boundaries are finalised. There is no right of appeal against the final boundaries. These boundaries will be in place for the next State general election in March 2021, but any by-elections which may occur in the interim will be conducted in accordance with the current boundaries.

### What factors are taken into account in a Distribution?

#### **Legislative Assembly**

The overriding determinant is elector numbers. As required by the Electoral Act, the Commissioners took a snapshot of the electoral enrolments in each Legislative Assembly district on 11 March 2019, midway in the electoral cycle.

As at this date, the Commissioners determined the Average District Enrolment (ADE) to be 27,573. With one exception (set out below), the level of enrolment in each district must not vary by  $\pm 10\%$  or more from the ADE (that is, must not exceed 30,330 nor be less than 24,815).

The one exception applies to districts that have a geographical area in excess of 100,000 square kilometres. In those districts a Large District Allowance (LDA) must be applied. The LDA is calculated by multiplying the number of square kilometres in the district by a factor of 1.5. This number is added to the number of actual electors in the district to arrive at a 'notional' enrolment figure, which for these particular districts must not vary by more than 20% below or 10% above the ADE. The combined enrolment (actual plus 'notional' electors) in these districts must therefore not exceed 30,330 nor be lower than 22,058.



## **Legislative Council**

The Distribution process also entails a review of the boundaries for the State's 6 Legislative Council regions: the Mining and Pastoral region; Agricultural region; South West region; and the North, East and South metropolitan regions in Perth.

The Act does not specify a minimum number of electors for any Legislative Council region, but obviously the adjustment of Legislative Assembly district boundaries is likely to have a flow on effect.

More detailed information about the Distribution process is outlined in the *Distribution Process Overview*.

#### How to make a submission

Any person or organisation may make a submission.

Submissions may relate to a single or multiple districts and/or regions, or cover the entire state. There is no set format for submissions, other than the requirement that they be in writing. As well as making suggestions about boundaries, it is open to you to suggest names for particular Legislative Assembly districts.

It is not necessary to provide maps to support your ideas but if you do it would be helpful if they can be viewed electronically as GIS (geographical information system) map files, in a MapInfo (\*TAB) format using a GDA94 projection. If you have difficulty sending your GIS files, please email the Office of the Distribution Commissioners for assistance at <a href="mailto:boundaries@waec.wa.gov.au">boundaries@waec.wa.gov.au</a>.

(If mapping your suggestions, please also include annotations that describe any boundaries set out in your submission (roads, rivers etc.)

Written submissions should be addressed to the Executive Officer with a covering page as set out below.

Full Name	
Organisation (if applicable)	
Street address	
Contact phone	
E-mail address	

To protect the privacy of personal information please do **not** include your address details **within the actual text of your submission** because all submissions are required to be published.



Please address submissions as follows:

• By post

Electoral Boundaries WA GPO Box F316 PERTH WA 6841

Hand delivery

Electoral Boundaries WA Level 2, 111 St Georges Terrace PERTH WA 6000

Email

boundaries@waec.wa.gov.au

Enquiries may be directed to the Executive Officer at <a href="mailto:boundaries@waec.wa.gov.au">boundaries@waec.wa.gov.au</a>.